First Presbyterian Church of Port Kennedy
The First Presbyterian Church of Port Kennedy was founded on October 31st, 1844. The Second Presbytery of Philadelphia approved the addition of the church to serve approximately 50 families, primarily by immigrants from Northern Ireland, in Port Kennedy, a village on the south bank of the Schuylkill River. Prior to the church, residents traveled to either Great Valley or Lower Providence, or held worship meetings in the various homes of the villagers.
Church remains despite village absorbtion
What used to be Port Kennedy has subsequently been absorbed into the Valley Forge National Park. However the church still stands, and continues to provide worship services for a vibrant church community, consisting of members from an area which has eight Presbyterian churches. 15% have been members for more than 50 years, 23% have been members for less than 10 years.
Since original construction, a bell tower was added, the Sunday School room on the first floor has been divided into a chapel, nursery, choir room, bathrooms, office and pastor’s study, and a two-story Church School Building has been built where the stables once stood. Memorial funds maintain the buildings.
The chirch cemetery is nearly full with 534 enterred. Bequests maintain the cemetery.
Members repeat John 3:16 before drinking the cup during communion.